Geographic Location, Land Area and Political Subdivisions

Antipolo reaches out to its neighboring towns and cities from six points of its Circumferential Road: On the northwest, Tikling road winds down the Ortigas Avenue Extension leading to San Juan passing through Cainta and Pasig. Southwest, Cabrera St. flows to the Manila East Road connecting the City with Taytay. Heading South on Manuel L. Quezon Street takes one to the City's neighbors, Binangonan and Angono. Southeast the Sto. Nino St. links with Teresa, doorway to Baras, Morong and Pililia. Northwest, C. Lawis St. connects with Marcos Hi-way heading towards Tanay and Quezon. And North, the Sumulong National Hi-way runs all the way to Marikina where one can move on to San Mateo and Montalban or choose to turn left at Marcos Hi-way to head for Cubao, Quezon City.

Antipolo is located in the northern half of Rizal Province but rather close to its meridional center. It lies approximately between latitudes 14° 32' and 14°45' north and longitudes 121° 6' and 121° 24' east. It is bounded on the north by the municipality of Rodriguez, on the northwest by the Marikina and San Mateo on the southwest by the towns of Taytay and Cainta on the southeast by the towns of Tanay, Teresa and Baras and on the east by Quezon Province.

Only 29 kms. from Metro Manila, the City can be accessed via the Ortigas Extension and Sumulong Hi-way via Marcos Hi-way. Public transportation allows easy commuting to and from the city. Buses, jeepneys and airconditioned FXs wait at terminals located at EDSA Central/Crossing or SM Megamall parking lot in Mandaluyong, Farmers' Market in Cubao, QC. and Ayala & Makati Stock Exchange parking Lots in Makati. In the City, tricycles with covered side seats are the popular form of transportation.

In terms of size, Antipolo City is the second largest in Rizal Province next only to Rodriguez (formerly Montalban). Its total land area of 38,504.44 hectares represents 29.9% of the entire land area of the Rizal Province. Currently, it is subdivided into 16 barangays namely: San Roque, San Jose, San Isidro, de la Paz, Cupang, Mayamot, Mambugan, Calawis, Dalig, Beverly Hills, Sta. Cruz, San Luis, Inarawan, San Juan, Bagong Nayon, and Muntindilaw. The barangays with significant sizes are San Jose with 13,787 hectares, Calawis with 5,581 hectares, and San Juan with 2,327 hectares and Cupang with 1,568 hectares, San Juan with 2,327 hectares and Cupang with 1,568 hectares.



The topography of Antipolo may be described as generally hilly and mountainous, with the hilly portions lying in the west and the mountainous area concentrated in the east as part of the Sierra Madre Mountain Range. Well-watered valleys are located in the middle of the city and in the northern and southern edges. Plateaus of over 200 meters above sea level are seen in the western half of the study area, including the site of the Poblacion and portions of Barangay Cupang and San Juan. In the eastern half, these are seen in Brgy. Calawis and San Jose overlooking the Boso-Boso River Valley to the west.



Based on PAGASA (Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Service Administration) Antipolo has type I climate which is marked by two (2) distinct seasons - the Wet from May to December and the Dry from January to April. The main climatic control operating in the climate of the area is actually the monsoon wind system. The warm southwest monsoon wind brings the rain to the city after gathering moisture from the Indian Ocean while the cool northeast monsoon moves as a dry wind and comes even drier after crossing the Sierra Madre geographic barrier.